[en] Exception thrown in the server crashes client (solved)

Topics: Technical Support
Jan 12, 2012 at 9:55 AM

I am just testing your great librrary!

So I started playing a bit with the provided 'MiniChat' example. One thing I noticed is that if the server throws an exception, that any clients will terminate abnormally as well.

Example (all on the same local machine):

- Start the MiniChat.Server

- Start a 1st MiniChat.Client and Login

- Start a 2nd MiniChat.Client and Login

- Let them chat a bit...

Now open the TaskManager and KILL the 2nd MiniChat.Client process (terminate it). This to emulate a situation, where a client suddendly just disappreas without gracefully shutting down its session (e.g. due to a machine crash or whatever other broken connection).

- Now try to send a message (chat) from the (still existing and connected) 1st MiniChat-Client.

The result is, that this client crashes!

I believe this is due to the fact, that the server still has got 2 subscribed message handlers which he is now trying to handle - but this leads to an exception when trying to invoke the message handler for the 'killed' client. As a result an an exception is propagated to the 'existsing/still-alive' client - which now terminates abnormally?!

Why is this? Is there anything to avoid this?

The reason for asking this is, that I believe, that this situation is quite critical - as the current behaviour means: If one client crashes - all clients might crash...a situation not really reliable in a real-world use-case.

Many THX in advance,

Bernd

(P.S.: If it is easier to answer in German - no problem, I am German too)

Jan 12, 2012 at 10:26 AM

Additional information:

This 'only' seems to happen, if the session manager sweeps the sessions in its 'SweepExpiredSession' method (on the server side).